MBB Flex Pack
spacer   My Account for spacer

IRVING, Texas – Six members of the Drake University football team have been named the National Football Foundation’s Hampshire Honor Society, the organization announced this week. Brandon Coleman (Cary, Ill.), Dustin Davis (Council Bluffs, Iowa), Seth Hedman (Tulsa, Okla.), Kolby Knuth (Appleton, Wis.), Kevin Marshall (Glen Ellyn, Ill.) and Mike Ratelle (Edina, Minn.) were all named to the prestigious group that is comprised of college football student-athletes that have maintained a 3.2 or higher grade point average throughout their collegiate careers.

In addition to maintaining a level of academic excellence, being a starter or significant on-field contributor and meeting all NCAA-mandated progress towards a degree is also needed for inclusion in the Hampshire Society. The group is comprised entirely of student-athletes that have met those requirements and exhausted their eligibility.

“The Hampshire Honor Society plays an important role in highlighting that college football players clearly play a leadership role in the classroom as well as on the playing field,” said NFF President & CEO Steve Hatchell. “We congratulate each of these young men for their commitment to excellence.”

A total of 838 student-athletes across all divisions of college football were honored with 37 coming from the Pioneer Football League.

Coleman, a defensive lineman, finished his career ranked in the top five of active FCS players in sacks and tackles for loss. He was a two-time second-team all-PF and  three-time academic all-PFL selection and a 2012 Capitol One/CoSIDA Academic All-District selection.

Davis returned to the team in 2013 after starting 8-of-11 games in 2011 and was a valuable defensive back off the bench in 2013. H led the team in kick returns in 2011 and was a three-time PFL honor roll selection.

Hedman was a four-time PFL honor roll selection that finished third on the team in tackles in 2013  as a reserve that moved into a starting role during the conference season.

Knuth moved into a contributing role on the defensive line as a senior and had 14 tackles, two sacks and five tackles for loss. He was also named to the Academic All-PFL team.

Marshall, a team captain along with Coleman, was a three-time all-PFL selection and an academic all-PFL honoree in 2013. He had a two touchdowns in six games as a senior while limited due to injury. In 2012, he was a Capitol One/CoSIDA Academic All-District selection.

Another team captain, Mike Ratelle, was second on the team in tackles with 65 in 2013 and three interceptions. He was named first team all-PFL as a senior and awarded the team’s  ‘Torch Bearer Award.” He was also a 2012 Capitol One/CoSIDA Academic All-District honoree.

Returning Customers
Donor/Giving, Tickets, Bulldog Vision users or returning customers, please login here.
Login/eMail Address


Forgot your Login?
Or call 515-271-DOGS.
New Customer
Set up a New Customer account for quick and easy online shopping and/or camp & event registration.

With your account you can easily track and manage your orders, update your information and more.