MBB Flex Pack

Most Outstanding Performers Named For the 2013 Drake Relays

Courtesy: Drake Athletics
Release: April 29, 2013
Send this article to a friend Print RSS
Article Image

DES MOINES, Iowa – The 104th edition of the Drake Relays presented by Hy-Vee dazzled fans with countless fantastic performances across all divisions, and on Monday the Relays Most Outstanding Performers were announced. The award is voted on by members of the media that cover the Drake Relays.

Mississippi’s Isiah Young was named the Maury White Award winner as the men’s collegiate and invitational most outstanding performer while Jenny Simpson’s record-setting performance earned her the honor in the women’s division. Josh Evans of Linn-Mar High School was the near unanimous selection for the Robert Kramme award as the boys’ outstanding performer. The Gerry Cooley Award for the girl’s most outstanding performance went to Agnes Sayeh of Des Moines Roosevelt.

Young repeated as the Drake Relays champion in the university 100-meter dash with a time of 10.07 in a slight wind. Had it not been for the tailwind that was just 0.1 meters per second over the allowable windspeed, the 2012 Olympian’s performance would been a Drake Relays record and broken the 30-year-old mark of 10.11 set by Alabama’s Calvin Smith in 1983. He also anchored Mississippi’s 4x100 and 4x400-meter relays.

Iowa native Jenny Simpson earned the women’s most outstanding performer honor after posting a Drake Relays and Drake Stadium record time of 4:03.35 in the London Games Rematch of the 1,500 meters. The former world champion crushed an elite field by nearly 40 meters after taking the lead from the rabbit 2:30 into the race. Her time was the fastest in the world this season and shattered Suzy Favor Hamilton’s previous Drake Relays record of 4:05.13 by nearly two seconds in tough, windy conditions. The honor is the second of Simpson’s career as she was previously named the Relays most outstanding performer in 2011.

Josh Evans earned the Robert Kramme award as the boys’ outstanding performance following a 1,600-meter performance that brought sold-out Drake Stadium to its feet for one of its biggest ovations of the weekend for the Linn-Mar High School standout. Evans set a torrid pace in the race to finish in 4:10.86, the fastest time in Iowa boys’ high school history. His performance also broke the Relays record of 4:11.57 set by Pekin’s Steve Griener in 1979 which was the oldest Relays record in a currently staged boys’ running event at the Relays.

Competing less than two miles from her high school, Agnes Sayeh of Des Moines Roosevelt, thrilled the hometown crowd by winning the 100 meters in 12.56 into a stiff headwind and anchoring Roosevelt’s 4x100, 4x200 and sprint medley relay teams to Drake Relays titles. Her 4x100-meter relay team ran the second fastest time in Iowa history while the sprint medley team won the race for the second straight year.

The 104th Drake Relays saw 11 Relays records broken and two others tied in addition to the 11 world leading marks established inside Drake Stadium. Saturday’s session featured a sellout crowd of 14,504 for the 48th consecutive year. The Thursday and Friday morning and afternoon sessions also recorded the highest attendance figures since Drake Stadium’s 2006 renovation.

Presented by Mercy
Launch Bulldog Vision |  LOGIN ▾
Member Login
Uploaded Ad
Spike's Army