WBB Flex Pack
MBB Flex Pack
Article Image

Menís Cross Country Announces Award Winners

Courtesy: Drake Athletics
Release: December 20, 2013
Send this article to a friend Print RSS

DES MOINES, Iowa – Doug Brady and Reed Fischer have been named the recipients of the Drake University men’s cross country leadership awards, head coach Dan Hostager announced.

Brady, a redshirt junior from Englewood, Colo., earned the Fred Feiler Leadership Award. Brady was the Bulldogs’ top finisher at the MVC Championships, coming in 17th and at the NCAA Midwest Regional. The annual award is bestowed upon a team member that exemplifies the principles of the Drake cross country program, both in performance and leadership.

Fischer, a freshman from Minnetonka, Minn., was tabbed as the team’s Jim Garrison Leadership award winner. The annual honor is presented to a freshman that is an up-and-coming student-athlete both on the course and in a leadership role. Reed earned the honor by running in the Bulldogs’ top seven all season and was the team’s third finisher at the MVC Championship while finishing as one of the region’s top freshman at the NCAA Midwest Regional with a personal best at the event.

Fred Feiler Leadership Award
Fred Feiler was a three-time NCAA Cross Country All-American from 1944-1946, twice winning the individual championship in Cross Country (1944 and 1945).  Fred served as captain on all three of Drake’s National Championship Teams From 1944-1946.  After graduating, Fred stayed on and coached Drake’s cross country team and led that team to an Iowa AAU and Central Collegiate Championship and a third place showing at the NCAA Championships.  Fred later went on to teach and coach for 28 years in Yuma, Ariz.

Feilers’s other accomplishments include: Central Collegiate Conference Champion in Cross Country from 1944 - 1946, Missouri Valley Conference Champion in Cross Country from 1943 - 1946, and Iowa AAU Cross Country Champion From 1943 - 1946.  In his last three years of Cross Country, Fred only lost one race.

The Fred Feiler Award is given to a team member who most exemplifies Drake Cross Country Excellence----both in performance & in leadership.

Fred Feiler Leadership Award Winners
1996- Chris Borton                          
1997- Chris Borton                                          
1998- Matt Gabrielson                  
1999- Jason Lehmkuhle              
2000- Troy Trygstad                                        
2001- John Crimmings                  
2002- Kjetil Ramstad                      
2003- Brent Wilberts
2004- Bobby Anderson
2005- Nick Cooper
2006- Skyler Nesheim
2007- Barry Hill
2008- Andrew Haigh
2009- Jeff Grassmeyer
2010- Brogan Austin
2011- Brogan Austin
2012- Brogan Austin
2013- Doug Brady

Jim Garrison Leadership Award
Jim Garrison was a four-year letter winner in cross country and track at Drake University from 1984-1988.  Jim was a true “student-athlete”, earning a perfect 4.0 grade point average in four of his eight semesters at Drake.  Jim also began Law School at Drake before completing his athletic eligibility.

Jim first etched a place in Drake track history when he won the prep 1,600 meter run for Indianola High School at the 1984 Drake Relays.  He went on to win the Iowa State title that year in the same event.  Jim earned honorable mention All-American honors and All-State recognition following his senior year.

This award is given to a freshman that exemplifies the up and coming Drake student athlete.

Jim Garrison Award Winners
1996- Zachary Schendel
1997- Zachary Schendel
1998- John Crimmings
1999- Caleb Richter
2000- Brent Wilberts
2001- Bobby Anderson
2002- William Polk
2003- Daniel Martin
2004- Todd Prauner
2005- Jeff Grassmeyer
2006- Jeff Grassmeyer
2007- Mike Bumgarner
2008- Colin Hagan
2009- Derek Campbell
2010- Doug Brady
2011- Conor Wells
2012- Rob McCann
2013- Reed Fischer

Presented by Mercy
Launch Bulldog Vision |  LOGIN ▾
Member Login
Uploaded Ad
Spike's Army