MBB Flex Pack
Article Image

Football Awards Honors At Channing Smith Banquet

Courtesy: Drake Athletics
Release: December 06, 2012
Send this article to a friend Print RSS

The 2012 Drake University football team recently put the finishing touches on its Pioneer Football League Championships season with the 115th annual Channing Smith Banquet.

Fifth-year senior Tyler Moorehead (Mason City, Iowa) was one of seven Bulldogs honored with individual awards as the squad celebrated its second straight PFL title.

“The banquet was a great way to wrap up and recap our entire season,” Moorehead said.  “It’s a good opportunity to have everyone together one last time before guys start graduating and leaving campus. It’s special to be able to celebrate a significant team accomplishment like winning back-to-back league titles.”

Moorehead was awarded one of the banquet’s top awards, the Torchbearer Award. According to head coach Chris Creighton, the award signifies a member of the team who leads by example and  creates a culture and excellence of leadership amongst the team. Moorehead also earned the team’s Theme Award for best personifying the team’s season-long theme and mission of ‘We Will.’

“It’s an absolute honor to have been selected for those two awards,” Moorehead said. “I respect everyone on this team. They’re an awesome group and it’s a great feeling to been seen and honored like that by my teammates.”

His fellow captain and offensive counterpart, Mike Piatkowski (Wheaton, Ill.), was named the team MVP for the second consecutive season. During his career at Drake, the senior signal caller set nearly ever career passing mark in rewriting the Bulldogs’ record book and becoming one of the nation’s top passers.

The Team Player Award was given to senior Trey Morse (Elmo, Texas) for his efforts in the Bulldogs’ backfield and locker room.

Zach Bosch (Tuscola, Ill.) was presented with the Gene Shultz Award, which annually honors an upperclassman who displays the highest standards of leadership, citizenship and personal conduct on the field, and in his academic and campus activities. In addition to being a stalwart on the offensive line, Bosch spearheaded many of the team’s community service efforts and earned a spot on the AFCA/Allstate Good Works Team earlier this season. He will be recognized again for that honor next month as part of the Allstate Sugar Bowl Festivities.

Another award, the team’s Committed to Excellence Award, stayed on the offensive line as Avery Fuhs (Chariton, Iowa) was honored.

The team’s top workers on the practice field also received much deserved recognition for their efforts in preparing the Bulldogs to compete for a championship week in and week out with the Scout Team Awards. Matt Greer (Creve Coeur, Mo.) was honored twice with the Offensive Scout Team Award and the Special Teams Scout Award. The Defensive Scout Team Award went to Taylor Coleman (Hawthorn Woods, Ill.).

115th Annual Channing Smith Banquet
Award Winners

Torch Bearer Award - Tyler Moorehead
MVP - Mike Piatkowski
Theme Award - Tyler Moorehead
Team Player Award - Trey Morse
Gene Shultz Award - Zach Bosch
Committed to Excellence Award - Avery Fuhs
Offensive Scout Team Award - Matt Greer
Defensive Scout Team Award - Taylor Coleman
Special Teams Scout Award -  Matt Greer

Presented by Mercy
Launch Bulldog Vision |  LOGIN ▾
Member Login
Uploaded Ad
Spike's Army