MBB Flex Pack
Article Image

Football Names Award Winners At Channing Smith Banquet

Courtesy: Drake Athletics
Release: January 23, 2014
Send this article to a friend Print RSS

The 2013 Drake University football team recently put the finishing touches on its season with the 116th annual Channing Smith Banquet.

Fifth-year senior and team captain Mike Ratelle (Edina, Minn.) was one of 13 Bulldogs honored with individual awards as the squad commemorated the program’s 10th consecutive winning season.

Ratelle was awarded one of the banquet’s top awards, the Torchbearer Award. The award signifies a member of the team who leads by example and  creates a culture and excellence of leadership amongst the team.

His fellow captains Kevin Marshall (Glen Ellyn, Ill.) and Brandon Coleman (Cary, Ill.)  were also honored. Coleman, who finished his career ranked in the top three nationally among active FCS players in career sacks and tackles for loss, was named the Gene Shultz Award winner. The annual honor is bestowed upon an upperclassman who displays the highest standards of leadership, citizenship and personal conduct on the field, and in his academic and campus activities.

Marshall earned the program’s Committed to Excellence Award following a career that saw him catch 115 balls for 1,000 yards and eight touchdowns.

Fifth-year receiver Nick Rosa (Owasso, Okla.) was named the 2013 Most Valuable Player after hauling in 56 catches for 858 yards and nine touchdowns in his senior season. Classmate Naser Hannoon (West Des Moines, Iowa) was honored with the team’s annual Theme Award for best personifying the team’s season-long theme and mission of ‘No Matter What.’

Matt Purdom (Elmhurst, Ill.), a fifth-year senior offensive lineman who suffered a season-ending knee injury in the second game of the season, was given the Team Player Award for his continual work on the sideline and in practice mentoring the team’s offensive linemen.

Postseason Hammer Awards were also given with John Hugunin (Oswego, Ill.) earning the special teams Hammer Award. Kevin Marshall was the offensive Hammer Award winner and Matt Acree (Shawnee, Kan.) earning the honor on defense.

Also on defense Drew Ormseth (Lake In The Hills, Ill.) was named the ‘Bones’ Helmet Award winner.

The team’s top workers on the practice field also received much deserved recognition for their efforts in preparing the Bulldogs to compete week in and week out with the Scout Team Awards. Grant Menard (Whitefish Bay, Wis.) was honored with the Offensive Scout Team Award while Tanner Evans (Gretna, Neb.) earned the defensive honor. Luke Roth (Naperville, Ill.) was named the special teams Scout Team Player of the Year. 

116th Annual Channing Smith Banquet
Award Winners

Torch Bearer Award – Mike Ratelle
MVP – Nick Rosa
Theme Award – Naser Hannoon
Team Player Award – Matt Purdom
Gene Shultz Award – Brandon Coleman
Committed to Excellence Award – Kevin Marshall
Helmet Bones Award – Drew Ormseth
Offensive Hammer Award – Kevin Marshall
Defensive Hammer Award – Matt Acree
Special Teams Hammer Award – John Hugunin
Offensive Scout Team Award – Grant Menard
Defensive Scout Team Award – Tanner Evans
Special Teams Scout Award – Luke Roth

Presented by Mercy
Launch Bulldog Vision |  LOGIN ▾
Member Login
Uploaded Ad
Spike's Army